Journeys Through the Word

“I am the light of the world …” 

Verse(s) considered:

John 8:12 ESV

Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Immediate context: 

John 8:12-18 ESV

(12)  Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

(13)  So the Pharisees said to him, “You are bearing witness about yourself; your testimony is not true.”

(14)  Jesus answered, “Even if I do bear witness about myself, my testimony is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going.

(15)  You judge according to the flesh; I judge no one.

(16)  Yet even if I do judge, my judgment is true, for it is not I alone who judge, but I and the Father who sent me.

(17)  In your Law it is written that the testimony of two people is true.

(18)  I am the one who bears witness about myself, and the Father who sent me bears witness about me.”

Additional context for consideration:

Psalms 36:9 ESV

For with you is the fountain of life; in your light do we see light.

Isaiah 9:2 ESV

The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; those who dwelt in a land of deep darkness, on them has light shone.

Isaiah 42:6 ESV

“I am the LORD; I have called you in righteousness; I will take you by the hand and keep you; I will give you as a covenant for the people, a light for the nations,

John 12:35 ESV

So Jesus said to them, “The light is among you for a little while longer. Walk while you have the light, lest darkness overtake you. The one who walks in the darkness does not know where he is going.

Thoughts along the road: (Observations) 

  • This section of the Gospel of John contains many different contentious interactions with the leaders of the Jews while he is also teaching the people present in the temple area during the Feast of Booths.
  • Jesus had previously (John 7:37-38) offered to quench the thirst of his hearers, telling them to come to him and drink and that after they did, “rivers of living water” would flow out of their hearts.
  • Here Jesus declares that he is the “light of the world.” 
  • That light is the same light that is referred to in the first chapter of John where it says:
    • John 1:5-9 ESV

(5)  The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

(6)  There was a man sent from God, whose name was John.

(7)  He came as a witness, to bear witness about the light, that all might believe through him.

(8)  He was not the light, but came to bear witness about the light.

(9)  The true light, which gives light to everyone, was coming into the world.

  • He promises that those who follow him will not walk in darkness.
    • We can walk/live in the light of the truth. 
    • We’ll be able to see the differences between truth and lies.
  • Because we have the light in our lives, we’ll clearly see how we can apply the light to our lives and see our way through dark and difficult times by continuing to follow him. 

Where to go from here: (Application)

Because we have that light in our lives, it shines a light both on our current position and condition (making us aware of both where we are, the blessings we have, and our sinful condition). We need to apply that knowledge to begin to move closer to him and to attend to the active sin in our lives. That is best accomplished by shining his light and the light of his word on our situation.

We need to be in his word daily. Remember that the Holy Spirit uses the Bible to make. us more like Jesus. It is the primary tool of our sanctification. So read it, study it, and apply it to your life daily. 

But all of this reading and studying and application only works if we already have Jesus as our Lord and Savior. If you have not submitted to him as Lord and Savior yet, all the Bible reading and studying and application will be for nothing because it does not work on a spiritual corpse. Please remedy that today. The following is from EvanTell.

There is nothing more important than your need to place your trust in Christ for salvation. If you would like to do this, you can tell God you are trusting Jesus Christ as your Savior through a simple prayer. It is not a prayer that saves you; it is trusting Christ that saves. Prayer is simply how you tell God what you are doing.

Dear God, I know I’m a sinner. I know my sin deserves to be punished. I believe Christ died for me and rose from the grave. I trust Jesus Christ alone as my Savior. Thank you for the forgiveness and everlasting life I now have. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Assurance of Salvation

John 5:24  “I tell you the truth, those who listen to my message and believe in God who sent me have eternal life. They will never be condemned for their sins, but they have already passed from death into life. 

About Steve Mathisen

I am a retired man who is a husband, father and grandfather. I love Jesus and try to follow Him. I fail at that regularly. He keeps picking me up, dusting me off and encouraging me to follow Him. I am going to keep doing that until I die. In the meantime, I edit for others and try to write. :)
This entry was posted in believing, Bible study, Blogging, Christianity, faith, Holy Spirit, Jesus, John, Lord, trusting God and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment